CMS EHR Incentive Program

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services recently launched a website for the Medicare and Medicaid electronic health record incentives programs, where it plans to post information on the programs as it becomes available. Among other information, the site currently contains a proposed rule and "fact sheets" on the programs' proposed requirements and definition of "meaningful use" of EHRs. A final rule is expected out soon. The site also notes that providers must have a national provider number and be enrolled in the Provider Enrollment, Chain and Ownership System to register for the incentive program. To access the website, visit

Update: Aug. 31, 2012

The American Medical Association has released two documents related to Meaningful Use: a summary of the Stage 2 final rule, and a summary of Stage 1 and Stage 2 requirements. 

The Stage 2 final rule summary includes:

  • The Meaningful Use stage schedule
  • Changes to Stage 1 requirements
  • Stage 2 requirements
  • Stage 2 clinical quality measures reporting requirements
  • And the Medicare Meaningful Use incentive and penalty chart

The Stage 1 and Stage 2 requirements document is a comprehensive listing of the objectives and corresponding measures of each stage.

The Stage 2 requirements of the meaningful use EHR program build on Stage 1 program requirements. Stage 2 starts in 2014.

Apply for Membership

Green Mountain Physician Magazine

Corporate Affiliates

Powered by ThinkSpark Media