Stephen Leffler, M.D., President 

Dr. Leffler is the chief population health and quality officer for the University of Vermont Medical Center, and oversees the coordination of quality, patient safety and population health programs for the six hospitals in the UVM Health Network. He is the former chief medical officer at UVM Medical Center, and currently he serves as a board member for OneCare Vermont.

Dr. Leffler received his medical degree from the UVM College of Medicine and earned a Master of Health Care Delivery Science degree from the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College. He will continue to provide patient care in the UVM Medical Center’s Emergency Department, and will spend much of his time at partner hospitals in the UVM Health Network.

Catherine Schneider, M.D., President-Elect

Dr. Schneider, is the section chief of surgical services at Mt. Ascutney Hospital and Health Center in Windsor, Vt., and currently chairs the Vermont Statewide Surgical Services Collaborative. She is the former chief medical officer of Mt. Ascutney Hospital , a position she held from 2011- 2014.

Dr. Schneider earned a bachelor’s degree in biology/premed from the University of Scranton, Pa., and medical degree from New Jersey Medical School. She did her surgical residency at UMDNJ in New Jersey and fellowship in minimally invasive surgery at the Institute for Minimally Invasive Surgery in White Plains, N.Y. She earned a master’s degree in management, health care administration from New England College in 2006.

Simha Ravven, M.D., Vice-President

Dr. Ravven, M.D. is the Interim Chief Medical Officer at the Brattleboro Retreat and clinical assistant professor of psychiatry at the Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Ravven graduated from the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, completed her psychiatric residency at Cambridge Health Alliance and served as a Clinical Fellow at Harvard Medical School.

She completed her Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship at Yale University and subsequently served as Medical Director of the Retreat’s Birches Treatment Center (PHP and IOP) prior to returning to Yale in 2016 to pursue various academic, research, and clinical interests. Dr. Ravven returned to the Retreat in August 2017.

Howard Schapiro, M.D., Secretary/Treasurer

Dr. Schapiro is an anesthesiologist at the University of Vermont Medical Center and the chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Vermont College of Medicine (UVMCM). He received his bachelor of arts in biology and masters of science in natural sciences/epidemiology from the State University of New York at Buffalo and his medical degree at UVMCM.

An attending anesthesiologist at FAHC since 1986, Dr. Schapiro is currently a member of the hospital's strategic management, faculty practice finance, medical staff executive, and operating room steering committees.

Trey Dobson, M.D., Immediate Past-President 

Dr. Dobson is the medical director of Dartmouth-Hitchcock Putnam Physicians and chief medical officer of Southwestern Vermont Health Care and a practicing emergency room physician. 

He received his bachelor’s degree in physics from The University of the South in Tennessee, a master’s degree in geology from the University of Wyoming and his medical degree from The University of Tennessee. He completed his residency in emergency medicine at the University of Virginia. 


Apply for Membership

Green Mountain Physician Magazine

Corporate Affiliates

Powered by ThinkSpark Media